Touchdown Thursdays: Veggie Pizza

Veggie Pizza

Procrastination.  Over-extension.  These things do not mix.

And they are… me.

I bring this up to illuminate the fact that there are Grand Marnier/cranberry/chocolate truffles that required more chilling, rolling, and dipping time than I allowed in my morning.  They were supposed to be today’s post.  And are not.  Hence, this post.

My cousin contacted me this week and asked for this recipe.  It has been made in my family for ages, from my grandmother, to my mother, to my aunt.

It seems as though everyone inherits “a dish.”  You know the one.  You made it once, everyone loved it, and now you’re stuck making it for every function from now until eternity.  This became my Aunt Diane’s.  I stuffed myself on these guys far too many times before dinner, to make dinner obsolete.

It never ceases to amaze me that recipes I consider staples can still surprise, and be something new for a happy eater.  This is one of those recipes that I assume has just existed always, like Wings, Pizza, Spinach Dip, etc.. Wherever it came from, I love it.

I have seen recipes for this that call for celery, onion, red pepper, and other veggies, if those float your boat, do em’, I stick to carrot, radish, broccoli.

Sometimes I use grated cheddar, as I did here, and sometimes not.  Sometimes I use the dill and garlic salt, sometimes not.

Your best, quickest, and easiest bet,  is to throw all those veggies in a food processor, pulse a few times, and voila, topping is ready.

If you make this for the first time, bring it to a party, it becomes “your dish,” don’t be sad, there are way worse things to be stuck with – easy and delicious are good things!

Veggie Pizza

Ingredients:

2 (8 ounce) packages refrigerated crescent rolls

1 cup sour cream

1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened

1 teaspoon dried dill weed

1/4 teaspoon garlic salt

1 (1 ounce) package ranch dressing mix

1/2 cup halved and thinly-sliced radishes

1 1/2 cups fresh broccoli, chopped

1 carrot, grated

1/2 cup Cheddar cheese, grated

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a jellyroll pan with non-stick cooking spray.

Pat crescent roll dough into a jellyroll pan. Let stand 5 minutes. Pierce with fork.

Bake for 10 minutes, let cool.

In a medium-sized mixing bowl, combine sour cream, cream cheese, dill weed, garlic salt and ranch dip mix.

Spread cream cheese mixture over cooled crust.

Top pizza with veggie mix and cheese.

Cover and let chill.

Cut it into squares and serve.

Leave a Reply

