Stuffed Grilled Jalapeños with Cilantro Lime Drizzle and a GIVEAWAY!

Stuffed Grilled Jalapenos with Cilantro Lime Drizzle

As with many a subtle seductress, I disregarded the need for proper precautions, those that might have prevented the affects of a potential sting, and I went for it.  They lured me in – sitting in the comfort of their fuzzy green box, with their shiny green exterior and their plump, local, freshness.  I took the bait.

Grill them, I thought.  Stuff them to the brim with goat cheese and pineapples, I thought.  Drizzle lime juice over them, I thought.

So I chopped.  I de-seeded.  I de-ribbed.  And then I cried.

One touch to the nose…burning.  One touch to the neck… burning.  Twelve hours later and my hands were still… burning!

I’ve chopped my fair share of peppers in my day and never used gloves, and never needed to.  It’s possible that these peppers being super fresh was the reason for my downfall, but I will never chop another without proper protection!

Thanks to my Twitter friends who offered the following as possible alleviations of heat – cream cheese, yogurt, milk, dawn and rubbing alcohol, vinegar, and my favorite – sour cream!

Basket of Jalapenos

Having said all that, let’s get to it… THESE ARE AWESOME!

While the flavors at first blush may seem odd – they work!  Cream cheese in peppers has been done to death, but goat cheese, you know I couldn’t resist.  The cheeses balance each other out perfectly, and then cumin adds some earth and spice, pineapple brings the sweet, cilantro and lime bring the acid and citrus – it’s a beautiful marriage.

I’m a huge fan of disposable veggie grill pans, they prevent burning, and cheese spilling all over your coals.  Use them, trust me.

Stuffed Jalapenos on the grill

You know I’m gonna suggest these over charcoal, but I understand the convenience of gas.  Whatever your heat source, do indirect, low and slow.  The beauty of grilling peppers is that nice char, the softening of the pepper’s flesh, and the mellowing of heat.

Enough about these awesome guys, on to the giveaway!  First of all, congrats to, Vicki Chambliss, the winner of a kick-ass pair of herb scissors and my new favorite treat (I’ll share later).  Thanks to all who entered, it was awesome to see so many comments, tweet, shares, pins and the like.

Whatever could be the giveaway this week?   Probably this killer King Kooker 36JR Stainless-Steel 36-Hole Jalapeno Rack with Corer.  Corer, meaning you can save your hands from the pain I endured.

Same as before – leave a comment, new email subscriber, new Facebook like, new Twitter follow, new Pinterest follower, new Tweet, new Pin – as long as it involves this post, I’m monitoring you folks, and you’re entered!  Today until next Wednesday… let’s do it!

Stuffed Grilled Jalapenos with Cilantro Lime Drizzle

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

10 jalapenos, halved lengthwise, seeds and ribs removed

6 ounces whipped cream cheese

6 ounces goat cheese, softened

3 tablespoons crushed pineapple, juices reserved

1 teaspoon cumin

1 teaspoon honey

salt & pepper, to taste

For cilantro sauce:

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons cilantro

1 tablespoon reserved pineapple juice

1 lime, juiced

Salt, to taste

Directions:

Heat grill to medium heat, or light charcoals until embers form.

In a small bowl, toss jalapenos with oil.  Remove from oil, shake off excess and place peppers on grill tray.

In a medium bowl, combine cream cheese, goat cheese, pineapple, cumin, honey, salt and pepper.  Mix well.

Fill each pepper with cheese filling.

Grill peppers over indirect heat for 12-15 minutes, until peppers are softened, slightly charred and filling is heated through.

Remove from grill and drizzle with cilantro sauce.  Serve immediately.

To make cilantro sauce:  Combine cilantro, pineapple juice, lime and salt in blender.  Blend until smooth.

Grilled Stuffed Jalapeno Peppers

5 thoughts on “Stuffed Grilled Jalapeños with Cilantro Lime Drizzle and a GIVEAWAY!

  1. Shared this on my FB page with a note on how we make ours. We use a sharp cheddar with the cream cheese. Top it with smoked paprika and a dash of garlic salt. Bake ’til done and enjoy. Always a crap shoot on how hot the pepper is, but the taste never disappoints. Curtis Harris

  2. Oh my these look good! I also feel your pain with hot peppers- I am usually ok cutting them up, but as a contact wearer, one time I was not careful enough left me with burning eyes.

Leave a Reply

