Sweet & Sassy Bourbon Baked Beans

Bourbon Baked Beans

“I have many leather-bound books and my apartment smells of rich mahogany.”  That’s what I was starting to feel like every time I checked the site.  Four years of the same, and beginning to look to me like an old study, I could practically smell the musty books.

So don’t be alarmed – this is still your beloved site, just wearing her Summer clothes, with a bit of light and air added.  I’ve been planning and wanting to revamp the site for ages, and while this is not what I had in mind, until the real site can be revealed, I had to make a change.

Blame it partially on the fact that I’ve been bedridden for almost two weeks due to a fluke and awful unknown sickness, and thus, have been obsessing on ways to make the site better.  So just for summer, here’s her new look.  I’m not keen on the fact that it’s just another WordPress theme, but please bear with me for a few more months 🙂

I was hoping to get some cooking done in this unexpected hiatus but every time I attempting vertical status for more than 10 minutes, the body was not having it.  I did however manage to get in these beans, mainly because they took little to no prep, and all the magic happened in the oven – over three hours worth of oven magic.

Slow cooking is key to developing flavors and getting super rich beans, so give yourself time, it’s worth it.

I love the combination of super bold flavors in this dish, and the fact that no one seems to take over.

Using bacon is up to you, but if you do, know that cooking with fatty bits will leave you with a bit to skim, but also adds flavor.

My favorite part of these beans, besides the bourbon, is the pineapple.  They provide that extra touch, and throw the taste buds for a loop.

I’m really into these you guys… you gotta try them for Father’s Day, or keep in the hopper for the Fourth of July.

Sweet & Sassy Bourbon Baked Beans

Ingredients:

28 ounces canned Great Northern beans

1/2 cup ketchup

1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed

1/4 cup maple syrup

3 tablespoons honey, I used orange blossom

2 tablespoons molasses

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1 tablespoon paprika

2 teaspoons dry mustard

1/2 onion, chopped

4 strips bacon, chopped

1 8-ounce can, crushed pineapple

1/3 cup bourbon, I used Woodford Reserve

Directions:

Preheat oven to 275º F.

In a large bowl, whisk together ketchup, sugar, maple syrup, honey, molasses, Worcestershire sauce, paprika and dry mustard.

Add beans, onion, bacon, pineapple and bourbon.  Mix well.

Transfer bean mixture to a baking dish and cover.

Cook, covered, for 3 hours. Remove cover and cook for an additional 1/2 hour.

Remove from oven and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Sweet & Sassy Bourbon Baked Beans

  1. Tried the recipe today, The beans were great, everyone loved them. The bourbon flavor is still pretty strong, and the mixture was still a little runny and not thick. Next time I make these I’m going to use a little less bourbon (I used Buffalo Trace) 1/4 cup, and maybe an ounce or two less on the crushed pineapple. I might even add a little jalapeno, to give it a spicy kick.

    • Would definitely go with a little less bourbon, (I have a hard time cutting back on any booze in my cooking), and going a little bit longer on the uncovered cook time. With the pineapple make sure it’s good and drained so it’s not adding any liquid. Love the idea of adding jalapeno. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

