Touchdown Thursdays: Creamy Dill Pickle Dip & A GIVEAWAY!

Pickles.  The lovely Mrs. of The Oblongs.  A favorite pre-game spot to grab a drink.  One of my many nicknames.  Curbs cravings.  Goes insanely well in a dip!

Naturally, I saw this on Pinterest, and it seems like every food blogger and their mother has stuck to the same recipe.  I wanted a little more funk, a little more spunk, a little more beer!

The type of beer that this recipe calls for is sometimes hard to find.  Rest assured, the base recipe rocks without its inclusion.

Gueze or Geuze is a type of lambic beer.  You know the way a good pickle makes you pucker, this is the same guy, just in beer form.  Not to say that it tastes like pickles in any way, but you get the point.  Without getting too beer geeky on ya, it’s made by blending a 1 year old and 2-3 year old lambic, which then goes under a funky secondary fermentation, and that’s where the good stuff happens.  Carbonation, sourness, it’s just a miracle of nature.

The likes of Lindemans, Oud Beersel, Tilquin, 3 Fonteinen, Boon, Cantillon will all be perfection.  Stay away from anything flavored though.  Cherry pickles, I don’t like the sound of it.

Like I said, you’ll be beyond stoked with the dip- without the beer, so don’t shy away because of it, just trying to reach out to my fellow beer lovers.  Fellow beer lovers, you’re probably thinking “A Gueze! That’s just plain weird.  That’s just plain wrong.”  Well it’s not.  And I know you’re not coming here looking for boring, run of the mill food.  Embrace it.  Trust me.

When it comes to throwing this together, if you like your dip a bit chunkier just dice your pickles finely and skip the food processor.  Throw everyone in a bowl and mix the crap out of it.

These pretzels.  Oh, these pretzels.  Snyder’s of Hanover, you glorious pretzel beasts.  Pumpernickel & Onion.  Heaven.

If you aren’t fortunate enough to get these in your area, a good old pretzel rod or chip is a perfectly acceptable means of dip to mouth transport.

Oh, you’re here for a contest? Well, let’s get to it!  Blogs are an outlet for creativity, so who am I to stiffle yours by asking you to answer some arbitrary question or tell me how much you love the site (although, that is completely welcome!).  You leave a comment.  Any comment.  Tell me your favorite movie.  What you do for a living.  How you found this site.  A link to a Youtube vid.  ANYTHING!  Just keep it clean kids.

Then, if you’re feeling super feisty, you head over to my Facebook page, like it, and leave a comment there to get another entry.

Well what are we winning Meg??? How about this amazing little tailgate wonder… The RoadPro Slow Cooker!!!  A Crockpot for your car!!! There will also be some other tailgating/football goodies thrown in.  So what are you waiting for? You’ve got a week, entries close Midnight, EST, October 3, 2012.  Oh boy, this outta be good!

Creamy Dill Pickle Dip

Ingredients:

8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature

1 cup sour cream

6 dill pickle spears, finely chopped

2 tablespoons pickle juice

1/3 cup Gueze, I used Lindeman’s Gueze Cuvee Rene

2 tablespoons Creamy Dill Mustard

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons dried dill weed

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in the bowl of a food processor.  Pulse several times until desired consistency is achieved.

Cover and chill for at least two hours.  Serve with pretzels, chips, or veggies.

11 thoughts on “Touchdown Thursdays: Creamy Dill Pickle Dip & A GIVEAWAY!

  1. I love all the recipes that you share on Touchdown Thursdays…I need some great recipes while I try to cheer on my team….The Buffalo Bills

  2. As I recall, we met in the gazebo in Las Matas de Farfan. How is it that we never discussed cooking while we were sitting there? Do keep on with these wonderful recipes. I’m off on a training ride — I’m bicycling from Roswell NM to Tucson AZ in three weeks!

  3. I love dill pickles with meat, I love sour cream and cream cheese mixed in with salady type vegetables. I’m not sure I would introduce them to each other. 🙂

Leave a Reply

