Rhubarb Slush

Vodka.  Rhubarb.  You’d think these ingredients alone would be the reason I’m so pumped to share this recipe with you.  They’re pretty low on the totem pole.

While searching for an old school pasta salad recipe my mom used to make, I came across this recipe for Rhubarb Slush.  Knowing I wanted to do a rhubarb week, I was glad to find a beverage to add to the mix.  Added bonuses – an old recipe card, smudge marks, and written in my grandmother’s hand.

I would be hard pressed to think of anything my grandmother made that was demanded at every family function, besides her Amish style potato salad.  At every after church meal with her there was a spread of apple butter, butter, bread and boxed mac n cheese.  That’s coming from the eyes of a child, so I’m sure there were other food stuffs being offered.

The only dish I’d ever had with rhubarb in it, before this week, was her strawberry rhubarb pie.  It obviously had an impression.  I remember that funky little stalk of red and how tart and yummy it seemed to be in pie form.

Her culottes and collection of Tretorns, hair curlers, nicknames, infectious smile, dedication to God and family, to millions of other unique traits and characteristics – to say she was awesome would only undermine her awesomeness.  She was a real lady whom I miss daily, and I’m so excited to have recreated something she made (although, I’m sure she never made it with vodka :)).

Sentimental moment over, time for the sipping.  If you’re like me over here on the sweltering East Coast, you need AC or unconventional methods of staying cool – read, some delicious and perhaps alcoholic bevs to sip on.  This slush is sweet, tart, refreshing, and super easy to make.  I didn’t touch the recipe, other than using diet lemon-lime soda, just to save a few cals and sugar grams.

I am, have been and will always be a “More Pulp” kinda gal.  I understand that pulp can be quite polarizing when it comes to how people like their beverages, so puree the mixture until you reach your desired texture.  I like that there are bits of rhubarb in the slush, but do it your way.

It’s weekend time kids – enjoy!

Rhubarb Slush

Ingredients:

1 pound rhubarb, chopped (3 cups)

1 cup water

1/3 cup sugar

1 cup vodka or apple juice

1 6-oz can frozen pink lemonade concentrate, thawed

1 liter bottle lemon-lime soda

fresh mint

Directions:

In large sauce pan combine rhubarb, water and sugar.  Bring to boiling.  Reduce heat; cover and simmer 5 minutes or until rhubarb is tender.  Cool slightly.

In a blender or food processor blend or process half the mixture, covered, until smooth.  Pour in a medium bowl.  Repeat with remaining mixture.  Stir in vodka or juice, and lemonade.  Pour into an 8x8x2 inch baking pan.  Cover and freeze several hours or overnight till firm.

Before serving, let rhubarb with apple juice stand at room temp for 45 minutes to thaw.  Rhubarb mixture with vodka doesn’t need to thawed.

To serve, scoop about 1/3 cup of the mixture into each glass, fill with 1/3 cup of lemon-lime soda or serve mixture in punch bowl.  Top with mint.

6 thoughts on “Rhubarb Slush

  1. Pingback: A Mom’s Legacy: Strawberry Rhubarb Pie | Navigating Vita

  2. Pingback: Lemon Tea Slush

  3. Pingback: Sparkling Strawberry-Lemonade Slush

Leave a Reply

