Jalapeño Cheddar Beer Cornbread

Hold on to your knickers kids… this ain’t your Grammy’s cornbread.  This is a knock-your-socks off, set-fire-to-those-taste-buds, reach-for-an-ice-cold-beer, cornbread.  There’s something so simplistic and divine about a hot piece of cornbread slathered with honey and butter, but simplistic ain’t my thang.  Enter jalapeños, Habanero cheese, beer, and a whole lot of other goodness.

The hardest part of this recipe will be allowing it proper cooling time before diving it.  Trust me, it’s worth the payoff.  I took the picture of the segment below before it had been given enough time, and it struggled to hold it together.  An hour later. when serving for dinner, the slices were perfect.  Patience pays- I swear I’ll learn that lesson one day.

The same day I made this bread I slaved away at what I thought would be the greatest baked beans ever – that was not the case.  However, my father, the professional eater that he is, came back to the table with a hunk of cornbread smothered in the stuff.  Genius.

I’d recommend serving this with your favorite grilled chicken, steak, shrimp, smothered in beans, obviously, or as perfection on it’s own with a dab of butter.

This recipe is a melding of three fancy minds – Ina Garten, Meghan Cassidy from CosmoCookie, and myself.  There’s sweetness, heat, great texture and consistency, a pop of bitter from the beer, and overall awesomeness.  I baked it in a buttered 9-inch cast iron skillet, but a 9×13 inch baking pan would work as well.  If you don’t have a cast iron skillet, invest in one, it’ll change your life.  Forget a new one, find a solid used option at antique stores, auctions, or flea markets.  You’ll thank me later, for the tip, and the recipe. 🙂

Jalapeño Cheddar Beer Cornbread

Ingredients:

Cornbread:

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup yellow cornmeal

1/4 cup sugar

2 tablespoons baking powder

2 teaspoons kosher salt

1 cup milk

1 cup beer, I used Stone IPA, a Pilsner, Hefeweizen or Lager would work as well

3 extra-large eggs, lightly beaten

2 sticks unsalted butter, melted, plus extra to grease the pan

8 ounces aged extra-sharp Cheddar, grated, I used Hot Haberno from Cabot (it rocks!)

2 jalapeño peppers, seeded, membrane removed, and finely diced

Glaze:

1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup beer, I used the leftover Stone IPA

Directions:

In a large bowl whisk together flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  In a separate large bowl, combine milk, beer, eggs, butter, cheese and jalapeños.  Stir the wet ingredients into the dry, until almost all lumps are gone.  Allow the mixture to sit at room temperature for 20 minutes.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Grease pans with butter and pour batter into prepared pan.  Smooth the top.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Allow to cool for at least an hour.

In a small mixing bowl or glass Pyrex measuring cup, combine butter, honey and beer.  Pour glaze over top and cut bread into pieces.  Serve.

7 thoughts on “Jalapeño Cheddar Beer Cornbread

  1. I’ve had jalapeno cheddar cornbread before but not with beer. SOLD! This will be perfect with chili on a Fall Gameday!

  2. Holy cow, two sticks of butter … that is my kind of cornbread! I’ll bet the sweetness from the honey and the spice from the peppers was really somethin’.

  3. Pingback: für Loadtage und andere Tage – Rezepte, die ich unbedingt testen muß « weekswithout

  4. I made this last night for a bunch of friends and it was a huge hit. Very rich, but delicious. I also used buttermilk, which was a little thick, but I was able to thin out the batter with a little water and it came out great. Nice recipe.

Leave a Reply

