HAPPY SUPER BOWL SUNDAY! Have a Pudding Shot!

Throughout the course of the past five years, chances are, on any given day,  you could open my freezer and find the following : bags of creamed spinach and… PUDDING SHOTS!

Pudding shots came into my life through a website that I stumbled upon in 2007.  Ladies… is a sports site, by women, for woman – so instantly, I was hooked.  Over the course of the next few years I followed it religiously, and made almost everything that came up on Football Foodie Fridays.

In 2009 they put out an open call for writers and I, being a huge sports fan, threw my hat in the ring.  I soon joined this band of amazing ladies, and trial and errored my way through WordPress.  After about a month I realized it was a breeze and subsequently threw up this here cooking site.  The rest is how you say, history.  I wanted to take this opportunity to thank the wonderful women who I’ve had the pleasure of emailing with and writing along side for the past few years.  I’m so honored to be a part of this site, and though I’ve fallen off in my posting and presence on the site, I’m still there in spirit.

Now, on to the shots!  I had all intentions of giving you some tasty football shaped treats full of chocolate stout, but without the time to perfect the recipes, I didn’t want to give you something that wasn’t ready.

So what’s better than dessert? A boozy dessert!  Skip the baking and dazzle your guests with a shot reminiscent of Wendy’s frosty… with booze!!!

These are so easy to throw together and the flavor combinations are endless.  With the ever-expanding shelves of flavored vodka and Bailey’s, you can get pretty darn creative.  Godiva makes a chocolate vodka that is perfect for these!

There was a time when I would be tarred and feathered for showing up to a football throwdown without a batch of these shots and Ooey Gooey Pizza Dip.  I hope your friends won’t subject you to such barbaric welcomes, but I know they’ll request them ad nauseam, just the same.

I use 5 ounce Dixie Cups, you can use smaller ones to get more out of the recipe or bigger ones to cut down on the space they’ll take up in your freezer.

I used chocolate cups strictly for purposes of a picture, and you’re feeling super ambitious you too can make these for your guests.  They’re not just difficult, just an extra step.   I used Milk Chocolate Candy Wafers and a Wilton Cordial Cup Candy Mold.  Just pour the chocolate in.  Let it set up for 2 minutes in the fridge, then tap out the excess, and pop back in the fridge until using.

Also, they are way more amazing than this picture depicts… it’s tough to make brown frozen slush look appetizing, my apologies.

It’s been a hell of football season and while my team isn’t in the big dance, I’ve had an amazing time bringing you Touchdown Thursdays, I’m already working on recipes for next season!

Have an awesome yummy snacks, yummy beer, good footbally, fun time today!

Pudding Shots

Ingredients:

1 6-ounce box of instant chocolate pudding

1 1/2 cups of milk, I use 2%

1 cup of Bailey’s

1/2 cup of vodka

2 8-ounce containers of Cool Whip, thawed in the fridge, full fat please 🙂

Directions:

In a large bowl, combine milk and instant pudding mix, whisking until there are no lumps.

Add Bailey’s and vodka; whisk well.

Fold in Cool Whip, be sure not to over work, as you want to maintain an airy consistency.

Lay out Dixie Cups on metal baking pan, making sure there’s room in the freezer.

Scoop about 1/4 cup into each cup.  Wrap trays tightly with plastic wrap and freeze.

About 15 minutes prior to serving, remove from freezer.  Serve with spoons or squeeze those bad boys out into your eager mouths.

2 thoughts on “HAPPY SUPER BOWL SUNDAY! Have a Pudding Shot!

  1. Oh man, I wish this was published earlier this week. I scoured the web for a unique Super Bowl shot to serve tonight. These look delicious! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe. I’ve got it bookmarked for next season 🙂

Leave a Reply

