Touchdown Thursdays: Curried Crab Dip

Curry, you fabulous spice, why must I always sleep on my love for you?  Every time I add this fabulous powder to a dish I’m reminded of my love of Indian cuisine, and my need to eat it more often.

If you’re not crazy for curry like me, may I inform you that curry is said to prevent certain diseases like colon cancer and Alzheimer’s.  If that’s not enough… it’s claimed to be one of the most powerful aphrodisiacs, wink, wink.

All the curry talk aside, this dip has pretty much everything I could ask for in a dish – ginger, mango chutney, cream cheese, mayo, lime juice, crab and cilantro!  Seriously, what could possibly make this better?  Nothing that I could think of, so this recipe, from Food & Wine Magazine, remained virtually untouched.  I did up the lime juice and cilantro for a little more depth of flavor.  Next time I think I’ll find something to add heat wise, maybe a pinch of cayenne.

Super easy to throw together and perfect for making ahead, you’ll be glad you added this dip to your repertoire.

I served this with veggies and some of my fav chips, Sweet & Beets from Terra, so delicious.

Curried Crab Dip

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 sweet onion, finely chopped

2 tablespoons minced fresh ginger

2 teaspoons curry powder

3 tablespoons mango chutney, chopped

8 ounces cream cheese, softened

1 cup mayonnaise

3  tablespoons fresh lime juice

2 scallions, thinly sliced

1/3 cup finely chopped cilantro

1 pound lump crabmeat, picked over

Salt and freshly ground pepper

Mixed vegetables and chips, for serving

Directions:

In a deep, medium skillet, melt the butter over medium heat.

Add the onion and ginger and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 7 minutes.

Add the curry powder and cook, stirring, for 1 minute.

Add the chutney, cream cheese, mayonnaise and lime juice and cook, stirring, until smooth and creamy, about 1 minute.

Stir in the scallions, cilantro and crab, breaking up the crab slightly with the spoon. Season with salt and pepper and cook until the dip is heated through, about 1 minute.

Transfer to a shallow bowl and serve with chips or veggies.

One thought on “Touchdown Thursdays: Curried Crab Dip

  1. Pingback: Kick-Offs & Recaps « Someone Left The Cake Out In The Rain

Leave a Reply

