Soupy Sundays: Crab Bisque

“Yeah. I met this lawyer, we went out to dinner, I had the lobster bisque, we went back to my place, yada yada yada, I never heard from him again.”

“But you yada yada’d over the best part.”

“No, I mentioned the bisque.”

I never toot my own horn… OK, rarely, do I toot my own horn.  But this bisque is legit.  Like those crab wantons I’m always hoping will kick ass, I order a lobster or crab bisque if it’s on the menu.  Usually, it sucks.

This bisque is all that I hope for… and more.  The spicy Old Bay, the crisp lemon flavor, the crunch of the celery, the yuminess of the crab… it’s got it all!

Soup is meant to be comforting, so try not to think of the cream and calories… it’s cold out, we’re preppin’ for winter… at least that’s what I tell myself! 🙂

Crab Bisque

Ingredients:

1/4 cup butter

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup celery, chopped

1/2 cup onion, finely chopped

1/3 cup flour

1 1/2 cup chicken broth

1 quart half/half

1 cup milk or heavy cream

3 tablespoon Old Bay

1 pound crab

zest 1 lemon

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1/8 teaspoon celery seed

1/4 teaspoon tarragon

1/3 cup sherry

1 teaspoon salt

chopped chives, grated Parmesan, sprinkle of Old Bay (garnish)

Directions:

In a large stock pot, melt butter of medium high heat.  Add garlic, celery and onion.  Cook until sweet, fragrant and translucent, approximately six minutes.  Add flour.  Slowly add chicken stock until mixture is thick, but not lumpy.  Add half and half, heavy cream, Old Bay, lemon zest, Worcestershire, celery seed, tarragon, sherry and salt.

Reduce heat to low and let simmer for approximately 20 minutes.  Add crab and let simmer for an additional 10 minutes.

Serve with chives, cheese and Old Bay.

Leave a Reply

