Pumpkin Beer Ice Cream & Fall Giveaway!

Pumpkins on porches and helmets on players… I could launch into a lengthy rendition of “My Favorite Things” with a Fall related theme, but I’ll save you the torture. 🙂

A list of all the reasons why Fall is my favorite time of year would never end.  I know tons of you feel the same way, so I’m taking this opportunity to let you tell me your reasons and … enter another giveaway!  This time you’ll be receiving some seriously awesome Fall related gifts, not the least of which is some killer authentic maple syrup from Vermont.

As before, please leave a comment below telling me why Fall is your favorite season.  For an additional entry, head over to the Facebook page and do the same, please switch up the answer :).

The deadline to enter is a week from today – Wednesday, November 2, 2011, Noon EST.

Now, on to today’s recipe.  I’m hoping to get all things pumpkin and comforting up between Soupy Sundays and Touchdown Thursdays… quite the undertaking – wish me luck!

This pumpkin beer ice cream is outstanding!  It takes exactly like a slice of pumpkin pie, with an extra kick of love at the end.  And the crisps?  Well who says apple pie should be the only one with this cheesy sidekick.

My only complaint since purchasing my Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker is that all recipes I’ve tried have left me with an ice cream that has the consistency closer to that of sorbet or gelato.  If anyone has a tip to get it more like Ben & Jerry’s, please pass it along.

Other than that, this ice cream is the jam, and perfect for an adult Halloween get-together.  Halloween?! I can’t believe it’s already here!  Happy trick or treating friends.

Pumpkin Beer Ice Cream

Ingredients:

9 egg yolks

3⁄4 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1⁄2 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon cloves

1/4 t ground allspice

1⁄4 teaspoon salt

2 cups heavy cream

1 cup canned unsweetened pumpkin puree

1/3 cup maple syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons Cognac

12 ounces pumpkin beer (I used Schlafly Pumpkin Ale)

Directions:

In a large mixing bowl, beat together egg yolks and 1/4 cup brown sugar until light and fluffy.  Add cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cloves, allspice, salt, and 1/2 cup cream.  Combine until smooth.

In a saucepan, combine 1 1/2 cup of cream and 1/2 cup of the brown sugar. Warm over medium heat, until small bubbles form at the edges of the mixture – around 5 minutes.

Remove cream mixture from heat, whisking constantly, slowly add cream to egg mixture.

In a bowl, whisk together the pumpkin puree, maple syrup, vanilla and cognac.  Whisk in beer.

Pour beer and cream mixture back into the saucepan. Cook over low heat until mixture thickens and coats the back of a spoon.  Do not let the custard boil.

Place in a large bowl, cover with plastic wrap (directly on the custard’s surface) and refrigerate for at least 3 hours, preferably overnight.

Freeze in an ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions.

Serve with maple syrup and cheese crisps.

Cheese Crisps

Ingredients:

8 tablespoons Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheese

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat over to 350 degrees.

Toss cheese with cinnamon.

On a baking sheet lined with a Silpat, form 4 mounds of cheese, 2 tablespoons each.

Cook for six minutes.

Allow to cool, and shape as desired.

25 thoughts on “Pumpkin Beer Ice Cream & Fall Giveaway!

  1. I love fall for a few key reasons: football, pumpkin and Oktoberfest beers, boots, and pumpkin carving!! We just whipped up an excellent pumpkin and I roasted the seeds for the first time… deeeelicious!

  2. Fall is the time for soups and stews, oyster roast by the bon fire. Crisp weather and leaving changing, my favorite time of the year.

  3. My favorite thing about fall is all of the winter squash that becomes available, and all of the fun cooking that comes with that. It’s nice to make the shift from light summer cooking to some hearty warmer foods like squash soup, pot roasts, and all that other good ‘ol comfort food. Of course, I do also enjoy the seasonal beers 🙂

  4. I could be wrong, but I think you get that firmness from chilling the batter in the fridge before putting it in the ice cream maker and then promptly putting it back in the freezer to firm up. It should be good after a few hours. I

  5. Living in Arizona, we don’t really have a fall…per se…but we do get a good two weeks or so where the weather is about 10 degrees cooler (around 75º on average) and it feels amazing after 8 months of blistering 90º-100º heat. Being from Wisconsin, however, I absolutely love fresh, piping hot apple cider, pumpkin craft beer, and scarves and mittens!

  6. why Fall? because i get to break out my hoodies and winter coats– finding long, lost treasure.
    because the change of the air and leaves lets me know my favorite holidays are coming up so i can get my sugar high and see my friends and the fam.
    because i had snow when i was a kid and all those memories of me, my brothers, my sister, and whoever else was around, having snowball fights. no one lost, not really.

    oh yeah, and the color orange rocks with potential.

  7. Fall is the best here in the U.P. of Michigan. Football, pumpkins, back to school, sweatshirts and too many more to list. You get the picture!

  8. Hoodies and a snug, but not too tight pair of jeans, boots, crisp air that seems cleaner. The smell of fires, last chance grilling. Changing leaves, the red ones are my favorite. Jumping in the leaf piles and not worrying about stupid ticks. All the hearty hot food that was slightly less enjoyable when it was too hot…Halloween decorations! All the holidays feel like they run up and slap you in the face this time of year. The sun going down sooner seems very fitting and adds a sense of calm to the season. Apple picking, pumpkin picking, sports and of course the “fall back” time change and that extra hour of sleep…YAY fall!

  9. Fall is the greatest season. College football, crisp fresh morning and evening air, beautiful landscapes of changing leaves, the aroma of newly split oak firewood, hot rum cider, flannel shirts, sweaters and college football. What an awesome time of the year.
    Just had a BIG bowl of Pumpkin Beer Ice Cream and it is delicious!!

  10. I absolutely love fall for all the food. Thanksgiving dinner and making a full out spread and a dozen pies is always one of my favourite things to do. Not to mention all the sweet goodies like caramel apples! Oh and going to festivals in my area (central NY) and trying some of the best food I’ve had in years~ Especially honey roasted nuts (cashews and pecans!) with cinnamon or brown sugar roasted. I could go on and on!

Leave a Reply

