Touchdown Thursdays – Tomato Basil Squares

Welcome to week two of Touchdown Thursdays!!!  Big thanks to all who entered the football giveaway.  I’m happy to announce that the big winner is Patty Jensen.  Congrats Patty, can’t wait to see what you whip up and put in those new goodies.

Also, because I’m a sucker for the underdog, I decided to pick the person that the randomizer kicked to the bottom of the list, and send them a little football lovin’ too.  Congrats, to The Little Kimichi Pierogi!

This week’s recipe is super easy, super yummy and sure to be gone in minutes.  I usually get carried away on gamedays and want a spread that consists of a million items.  The problem always remains, how the heck am I gonna have time to make it all?

Let me tell you that for special events, The Superbowl, Michigan/Ohio State, etc., I’ve spent days before working on the food.

This is insanity.  Don’t be like me.  Take it easy on yourself.  Find fun and fast recipes like this, and roll with ’em!

My aunt made this years ago, and I mean years ago, and I got the recipe immediately.  I was making this long before I had any sort of skills in the kitchen, so trust me, it’s easy!

In searching for this, I found that it’s an old school Pampered Chef recipe.  I tweaked it a bit to make it my own.  More cheese, more garlic, more basil – what could be better?

As with all things, make them your own, do what you and your crew enjoy the most.

Directions:

1 (10 ounce) package prepared pizza crust

2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese, divided

4 plum tomatoes, thinly sliced

1/4 cup fresh parmesan cheese, grated

1/4 cup fresh parmesan cheese, shredded

2 teaspoons dried basil leaves

2/3 cup mayonnaise

4 small or 2 large garlic cloves, pressed

2 tablespoons fresh basil

salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Roll out pizza crust onto a cookie sheet.

Sprinkle crust with 1/4 cup Mozzarella cheese.

Place sliced tomatoes on top of crust and cheese.

In a bowl, combine 1 1/2 cups of Mozzarella cheese, both kinds of parmesan, dried basil, mayonnaise, garlic, salt and pepper.  Mix well.

Spread mayonnaise mixture on top of tomatoes.

Top with chopped basil.

Top with remaining Mozzarella cheese.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until top is golden brown and bubbly.

7 thoughts on “Touchdown Thursdays – Tomato Basil Squares

  1. This hits it out of the park with me: easy, delicious & sophisticated. I’m so tired of hot wings & typical dips every week.

    I can’t wait to make these Sunday. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Is there any way I could substitute something for the mayo? This is fantastic, but I can’t have the mayo. Let me know if any one thinks of anything! Thanks. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Kick-Offs & Recaps « Someone Left The Cake Out In The Rain

Leave a Reply

