Creamy Lemon Pepper Orzo

orzo

Risotto and orzo are two of those dishes that scream high dining and difficulty.  Well that could not be further from the truth.  This dish is creamy, lemony and will make your dining partners think you really know your stuff, plus it’s delicious! A must for your fall entertaining!


Ingredients

2 1/2 c chicken stock
1 c orzo
1 lemon juiced
1/4 c cream
1/3 c grated Parmesan
1/3 c cream cheese
2 tbl butter
2 tbl fresh chives, snipped
1 tbl cracked black pepper
zest of 1/2 lemon

Directions

In a medium sauté pan, bring the chicken stock to a boil.  Add pasta and cook for 7 to 8 minutes until liquid is almost absorbed or orzo is tender.  Be sure to check on the pasta constantly as it does have a tendency to burn and stick to the bottom of the pan.  Remove from heat.

Stir in remaining ingredients.  Season with salt and pepper if necessary and serve.

7 thoughts on “Creamy Lemon Pepper Orzo

  1. I love orzo! Yours looks delish but you need to throw some shrimp in there! 🙂 I keep forgetting to cook mine in the broth. I just bet that really kicks it up a notch!
    ~ingrid

  2. I made it and added in the shrimp……..even better than I thought. I didn’t add the chives and doubled everything except the black pepper because I also tossed the shrimp in a bit of creole/blackening seasoning.
    Thanks & happy Friday!
    ~ingrid

Leave a comment